Volkswagen has taken the Rally Transiberico lead following the seven kilometre long prologue.  Carlos Sainz/Michel Perin, driving a Volkswagen Race Touareg 2, recorded the day’s best time, 4.7 seconds ahead of Nissan driver Colin McRae.  

Portugese driver, Carlos Sousa, and his German co-driver, Andreas Schulz, claimed eleventh place on the first day of the opening round of the FIA Cross Country Rally World Cup in front of thousands of enthusiastic fans.

The Rally Transiberico continues today with the longest leg. Two stages, each of 189 kilometres, will be completed on the 890 km long route to the Spanish town of Badajoz.

Standings after Stage 1:

1.    Carlos Sainz/Michel Perin, VW Race Touareg 2, 6min6.8sec;
2.    Colin McRae/Jean-Marc Fortin, Nissan Navara, 6:11.5;
3.    Miguel Barbosa/Luis Ramalho, Proto Dessoude, 6:12.6;
4.    Joan Roma/Lucas Cruz, Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution, 6:15.3;
5.    Luc Alphand/Gilles Piccard, Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution, 6:19.2

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts