Shock NSW APRC venue change - RallySport Magazine
Connect with us


Shock NSW APRC venue change

RallySport Magazine | Australia's Best Rally Magazine
Coffs Harbour will host Australia's APRC round in June 2018. Photo: Peter Whitten

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport is expected to announce another change of location for Australia’s round of the Asia Pacific Rally Championship.

The provisional 2018 APRC calendar was announced on Sunday, with Australia’s date moving from May to the first weekend in June.

In a shock move, the event will be based in Coffs Harbour and be run by the same team that organises Rally Australia.

Although CAMS would not yet confirm the move, RallySport Magazine understands that a press release announcing the new event location is only days away.

Subscribe For

Unlimited Access

The event will also be a round of an expanded Australian Rally Championship, as will Rally Australia in November.

The calendar for the 2018 ARC is also expected to be released in the coming days.

2018 Asia Pacific Rally Championship calendar (provisional)

May 5-6, New Zealand (Whangarei)
June 2-3, Australia (Coffs Harbour)
July 21-22, Malaysia (Johor)
September 15-16, Japan (Hokkaido)
October 20-21, China (Longyou)
December 1-2, India (Chikmagalur)

Peter has been the editor of RallySport Magazine since its inception in 1989, in both printed and online form. He is a long-time competitor, event organiser and official, as well as working in the media. In 2020 he received a Motorsport Australia 'Media Service Award'.



Follow Us

More in APRC