Exclusive access from $6.55/month

The 41st running of the Sno*Drift Rally once again kicks-off the eight-round 2014 Rally America National Championship season on January 24-25, 2014 in Montmorency County, Michigan.

Subaru Rally Team USA's David HigginsSno*Drift is a performance rally that features prepared 2-wheel and 4-wheel-drive production cars on closed down timed sections of wintery roads It is the only planned snow event on the Rally America National Championship schedule attracting more than fifty domestic and international teams as well as legions of dedicated rally fans.
After two months off, the Championship begins the next chapter with many familiar faces from prior years and some very new faces. Last year's Sno*Drift winner and 2010 Rally America National Champion, Antoine L'Estage, is back to attempt a repeat victory in his trademark Mitsubishi Evolution X after he beat Subaru Rally Team USA's David Higgins (pictured) on the very last stage in 2013. David Higgins with co-driver Craig Drew went on to secure the 2013 Rally America title for the third consecutive year and are expected to return to Sno*Drift to extend their streak.
The competition will be crowded with a large contingent of Super Production (SP) cars led by 2013 SP Champions David Sterckx and Karen Jankowski. The SP battle is expected to be tight with the entrance of Lauchlin O'Sullivan and Dillon Van Way, whom both are familiar with top podium finishes.
Rally America fans are anticipating the return of Subaru Rally Team USA's Travis Pastrana, the X Games action sports star who raced for the team from 2006-2009 and delivered four Rally America titles. Pastrana left stage rally to pursue a NASCAR career, but issued a December announcement that he wanted to return to the sport he loves. However, Pastrana will not attend Sno*Drift opting to make his season debut at the Rally in the 100 Acre Wood on February 21-22nd in Salem, Missouri.
Many teams consider the Sno*Drift Rally to be their favorite event due to the unique experience of running the icy, snow banked roads WITHOUT studded tires at high speeds. As a result, Sno*Drift's conditions instantly levels the playing field allowing any driver a chance to win, and the race's past overall winners reflects the event's diversity and toughness.
Since 2005 the Sno*Drift Rally has traditionally been the opening round to the Rally America National Championship and will continue that role for the 2014 season.  Sno*Drift received Honorable Mention in 2008, and in 2005, 2011, and 2012 was named "Rally of the Year", being declared the benchmark by which other Rally America National Championship events are judged.
"We're striving to put on a world class rally again this year and we're pleased to be able to do this in Montmorency County, it's a great place for an event of this caliber," said Don Rathgeber, Sno*Drift Rally Chairman.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts