Strang 15th winner in unique NZ rally record - RallySport Magazine
Connect with us

NZ South

Strang 15th winner in unique NZ rally record

RallySport Magazine | Australia's Best Rally Magazine
Jeff Judd and Grant Marra celebrate their Mainland Series win with their team.

Carter Strang became the 15th different winner from 15 rallies in New Zealand this year, when he took out the Sprint Rally in South Canberbury on Saturday.

Strong and co-driver, Stewart Robbie, drove their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6 to a nail-biting 1.1 second victory over Jeff Judd and Grant Marra in a Subaru Impreza WRX.

The experienced Judd’s second placing was enough to give him the Mainland Series title for 2017, ahead of Deane Buist, who finished fourth on the day in his Ford Escort RS1800.

Subscribe For

Unlimited Access

Third place went to David and Emma Quantock’s Lancer Evo 8, with the top five was round out by the Evo 5 of Jason Clark and Jonty Bressnell.

Major retirements included Josh Marston (Holden Barina) with mechanical issues, Job Quantock’s Skoda Fabia suffered a cracked manifold, and the crowd-pleasing Mazda RX8 of Marcus van Klink with broken suspension.

Full results can be found at

Peter has been the editor of RallySport Magazine since its inception in 1989, in both printed and online form. He is a long-time competitor, event organiser and official, as well as working in the media. In 2020 he received a Motorsport Australia 'Media Service Award'.



Follow Us

More in NZ South