Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Coral Taylor became the first woman inducted into the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame at a gala function attended by FIA President, Jean Todt, in Melbourne.

Neal Bates and Coral Taylor were inducted into the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame last weekend. (Photo: CAMS)Also inducted was her long-time rallying partner, Neal Bates, while seven-time Australian Champion, the late Possum Bourne, was also included on the list of rallying inductees.

The Australian Hall of Fame was launched last year with an inaugural list of 30 inductees including three-time Formula 1 World champion Sir Jack Brabham and five-time MotoGP champion, Mick Doohan.

The 2017 inductee list included competitors from virtually every facet of the sport, as well as two “special” awards for legendary engineer Ron Tauranac and long-time administrator, John Large.

Hall of Fame Chairman, Garry Connelly, was delighted with the outcome of evening.

“It has been another fantastic evening and I think has carried on a great tradition from last year’s inaugural event,” said Connelly.

One of the highlights of the evening was the attendance of FIA President Jean Todt who presented the final Hall of Fame dinner medal to legendary Formula 1 engineer Ron Tauranac.

Todt was the special guest at the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame dinner at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre and wasted no time ranking the locals as "world class".

"It is pleasure to be here tonight in your beautiful country and this great city of Melbourne for such a special weekend," said Todt.

"Australia has been demonstrating for decades how it should be done in motor racing and safety.

"Your country is an example of how things should be done.”


Motor Racing
Alexander Nicholas “LEX” Davison (D)
Jim Richards
Mark Skaife
Frank Gardner (D)
Kevin Bartlett
Larry Perkins
Vern Schuppan

Motorcycle Racing
Keith Ronald Campbell (D)
Thomas Edward Phillis
Troy Corser

Peter “Possum” Bourne (D)
Neal Bates
Coral Taylor

Motorcycle Speedway
Arthur George ‘Bluey’ Wilkinson (D)
Leigh Scott Adams

Motorcycle - Motocross
Ken Rumble

Drag Racing
Jim Read

John Pizarro

Speedway Cars
Johnny Stewart (D)

Special Category
John Large (D) - (Administration)
Ron Tauranac – (Engineer)

(D) = Deceased


Motor Racing
Sir Jack Brabham
Alan Jones
Frank Matich
Allan Moffat
Dick Johnson
Peter Brock
Colin Bond
Bob Jane
Harry Firth

Motorcycle Racing
Mick Doohan
Casey Stoner
Troy Corser
Wayne Gardner
Gregg Hansford
Kel Carruthers

Ross Dunkerton
Jack”Gelignite” Murray

Motorcycle Speedway
Jason Crump
Jack Young
Lionel Van Pragg

Motorcycle Motocross
Jeff Leisk
Stephen Gall

Drag Racing
Ash Marshall

James Courtney

Speedway Cars
Garry Rush
Ray Revell

Land Speed Records
Norman “Wizard” Smith

Mark Burrows

Special category
Phil Irving - (Engineer)
Donald DKT Thomson - (Administration)

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts