Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Romanian resident Italian Simone Tempestini, already this year’s FIA Junior WRC driver champion, has also been declared the inaugural Tour European Rally series champion.

His win came under tie-deciding rules – by winning the greatest number of stages.  

All four TER rounds were won by different drivers. For each of them this was their only score, two of them (Tempestini and Hermann Neubauer) gained maximum supplement points from a Power Stage (the other two did not), leaving the number of their stage wins as the defining factor.  

By a coincidence, stage wins were also instrumental in the calculation of the Drive DMack Fiesta Trophy championship points in which Osian Pryce, who scored 26 stage wins during the DDFT season, beat Max Vatanen (19 points) to the title.  

Tempestini, meanwhile, is hoping to gain a third title in the FIA WRC3 championship.  
- Martin Holmes

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts