Veiby extends APRC lead with Malaysian victory - RallySport Magazine
Connect with us


Veiby extends APRC lead with Malaysian victory

RallySport Magazine | Australia's Best Rally Magazine
Ole Christian Veiby extended his lead in the APRC with victory in Malaysia. (Photo: APRC TV)

21-year old Norwegian driver, Ole Christian Veiby, won the Rally of Johor in Malaysia, his second successive Asia Pacific Rally Championship victory.

He headed a one-two result for the MRF Skoda team, and extended his championship lead to 10 points with two events to go.

His teammate and the initial leader, Gaurav Gill, finally rose to second place on the final stage after first breaking a steering arm, then suffering a failed alternative belt, the latter after a collision on a stage with fellow Skoda driver Yuyi Sumiyama.

Subscribe For

Unlimited Access

Third place once again went to Jari Ketomaa in a Mitsubishi Mirage R5 concept  car, after two delays with driveshaft failures.

Fellow Mirage drivers Sanjay Takale and Robert Blomberg both lost time stuck in road side drainage ditches.

The remaining APRC events this year will be held in Japan and then India.

Peter has been the editor of RallySport Magazine since its inception in 1989, in both printed and online form. He is a long-time competitor, event organiser and official, as well as working in the media.



Follow Us

More in Global