Exclusive access from $6.55/month

A remarkable line-up of former WRC world champions have promised to attend the Rally Legend event in the Republic of San Marino (October 21-22).

Thirteen full world champions and the two FIA Cup for Rally Driver Champions (Sandro Munari and Markku Alen) will attend.

The only absentee among the 14 surviving world champions will be Carlos Sainz. This year’s theme of the event is a Colin McRae Tribute.

= = = =

Last week’s Oregon Trail was the first round of the new American Rally Association series to be held on US territory (after the Perce Neige in Canada).

Winner was Travis Pastrana, ahead of his Subaru teammate David Higgins, winner on the last six Oregon Trail rallies, but who was delayed by a wrong tyre choice this time.

PastranaTravis Pastrana took victory in the USA.Best two-wheel-drive was Rhys Millen’s Toyota RAV4, with Australian Rhianon Gelsomino in the co-driver’s seat.

= = = =

A surprise victory on the Austrian championship Wechselland Rallye went to Hermann Neubauer in a six-year-old Ford Fiesta WRC, beating national champion Raimund Baumschlager.

Baumschlager made the debut of the first privately driven VW Polo R WRC.

The main change for Baumschlager was to adjust to the Pirelli tyres on a car designed to use, and which had always previously run on Michelins.

- Martin Holmes

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts