R5 cars took the top 15 places in the Rallye du Var, final round of the French asphalt rally championship, won by champion Yoann Bonauto (Citroen). Second was the Hyundai i20 of Bryan Bouffier who inherited the position after Stephane Sarrazin (Hyundai) had a last stage puncture, falling to sixth. Retirements included new gravel champion Sylvain Michel (Skoda) and Junior champion Adrian Fourmaux (Fiesta, on his first rally in an R5), both off the road. Francois Delecour competed in a restored Ford Escort RS Cosworth but retired. = = = = Jose Suarez won the Rally Communidad de Madrid RACE, final round of the Spanish asphalt rally championship, beating fellow Hyundai i20 R5 driver and national champion Ivan Ares. They were followed by the Fiesta R5s of Efren Llarena, Daniel Marban and Miguel Fuster. = = = = The Toyota Etios R5 scored its first international victory when Paraguayan Alejandro Galanti won the Rally del Atlantico, final round of the FIA’s regional Codasur championship, based at Minas in Uruguay. He headed seven registered drivers, of which four were driving Maxi Rally cars. Second Codasur finisher was Argentine Augusto d’Agostini (VW Golf Trend MR). = = = = Franciso (Pancho) Name won the Rally Colima, final round in the FIA’s Nacam regional championship and also of the Mexican rally championship, beating Ricardo Cordero to the national title. This was Name’s third national title. Mexican Ricardo Trivino had already clinched the FIA title at an earlier event.
Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts