Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Reigning champion, Darren Windus, took a convincing win in round two of the Victorian Rally Championship on Saturday.

Darren Windus slides his way to victory in the Mitta Mountain Rally. (Photo: Luke Whitten)Driving a Subaru WRX, Windus and co-driver Joe Brick won the Border Oils & Batteries Mitta Mountain Rally by over four minutes to extend their lead in the championship.

Warren Lee and David Lethlean took second place in a Lancer Evo IX after a flat tyre slowed their progress on stage one, while Viv Dilkes-Frayne and Tracey Dewhurst were third in another Subaru.

Ford Escorts rounded out the top five, with Neil Schey heading home Grant Walker by 21 seconds.

Based at Mitta Mitta in the Kiewa Valley, the event entailed just four stages, but all were over 30km in length.

Retirements included Ivan Regester in his Subaru WRX, and Tony Moore, how suffered front end damage to his Ford Focus after sliding off the road in slippery conditions.

The rally was directed by former Australian Rally Champion co-driver, Ross Runnalls.

Full results from the event can be found at www.vicrally.com.au

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts