Exclusive access from $6.55/month

The FIA’s World Motor Sport Council predictably approved various proposed changes in the World Rally Championship rules at their meeting on November 30.

Rally Australia will again be the final round of the WRC. (Photo: Peter Whitten)New running order rules will be used for Priority 1 drivers on Day 2, and there was confirmation that only two tyre companies (Michelin and DMack) are registered for the world championship, as well as the new "WRC Trophy" - the so-called Privateer's Cup for 2016 specification World Rally Cars.  

It was announced that M-Sport are to supply R2 cars for the Junior World Rally Championship for 2017 and 2018.  

It was reported the WMSC approved the new system in which the five fastest drivers in the Power Stage will earn supplemental championship points, and there will be a championship points reduction from badly shortened WRC events (e.g.: if an event is shortened due to bad weather).  

The European Rally Championship has been shortened to eight instead of 10 events.  

The calendar for the 2017 WRC will be the same 13 events as 2016, which were left after the withdrawal of proposed event in Turkey, with a seven week gap between Germany and Spain.
- Martin Holmes

2017 World Rally Championship calendar:
19-22 January: Monte Carlo
10-12 February: Sweden
10-12 March: Mexico
7-9 April: Corsica - France
28-30 April: Argentina
19-21 May: Portugal
9-11 June: Italy
29 June-2 July: Poland
27-30 July: Finland
17-20 August: Deutschland  
5-8 October: RallyRACC
26-29 October: Great Britain
16-19 November: Australia

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts