Connect with us


6 and 13 …… Rally Mexico’s incredible WRC stats

Sebastiens Loeb (left) and Ogier during Rally Mexico 2018. Photo: Martin Holmes Rallying

Passionate World Rally Championship fan, Gary Boyd, has come up with an incredible set of statistics around last weekend’s Rally Mexico.

According to Gary, Rally Mexico is all about 6 and 13, as well as 6 times 13.

How about these for stats?

  • up until 2017, Rally Mexico has been a WRC event 13 times
  • there have been 6 different winners: Markko Martin, Petter Solberg, Seb Loeb, Seb Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala and Kris Meeke
  • Seb Loeb took 6 consecutive wins
  • Seb Loeb’s last start in Rally Mexico was 6 years ago in 2012
  • since 2010, the WRC has had 13 events each year
  • 6 times 13 equals 78
  • there have been 78 WRC events since Seb Loeb last did Rally Mexico
  • Seb Loeb has 78 career WRC wins
  • The other drivers starting in Mexico this year have 78 WRC wins between them
  • From July 2005 (Argentina) to April 2012 (Argentina) Seb Loeb and Daniel Elena were unbeaten on Latin American soil. They won all 13 WRC rounds held in Central and South America over this 6 years and 9 month period.

As we said, incredible stats. Well done Gary!

Sebastien Ogier took another Rally Mexico victory. Photo: Martin Holmes Rallying

Sebastien Loeb was unbeaten in Central and South America between 2005 and 2012. Photo: Martin Holmes Rallying

Sebastien Loeb was unbeaten in Central and South America between 2005 and 2012. Photo: Martin Holmes Rallying

Related news:

Ogier retakes WRC lead with Mexico win

Where are they now? Two time Australian Rally Champion Rob Herridge

Peter has been the editor of RallySport Magazine since its inception in 1989, in both printed and online form. He is a long-time competitor, event organiser and official, as well as working in the media.



  1. Jamie Ackland

    March 13, 2018 at 9:50 am

    Nice to see some Gary Stats, Gary is a true Gem of the Rally Community! and well worth the follow on twitter!

  2. Pingback: Opinions varied on severity of Ogier's Rally Mexico penalty

  3. Pingback: WRC stats: it's all about the number 4 - RallySport Magazine

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Spanish Rally Championship uproar as top team withdraws.

MASSIVE thanks to this legend who was our first interview for the #rustysgarage pilot...we must have talked for more than 2 hours!! 😂😂 Really proud of the end result. Thanks again @MollyRally. See you @ausgrandprix #podcast #automotive #rally #arc #subaru #subarudo 🎤🎧

Richie Dalton’s Ford Fiesta Proto is on its way to New Zealand for the first round of the NZ Rally Championship, the Otago Rally (April 13-15).


More in WRC