Exclusive access from $6.55/month

The Australian Rally Commission (ARCom) and the Management of the ARC are in the process of final approval of a series of updates to the sporting regulations for the 2015 East Coast Bullbars Australian Rally Championship following meetings of the sports primary stakeholders and administrators over the past month.

“We have attempted to keep the sporting changes to a minimum for the upcoming season, and made changes only where we felt competitors, spectators, and the public watching the television coverage or following on the internet will see an improvement in the spectacle our sport provides,” explained ARC Chairman Ben Rainsford.
“ARCom and the ARC doesn’t take any sporting change lightly and we’re confident that these minor adjustments will have an incredibly positive impact in the New Year.”
A summary of the proposed changes are as follows;
1. Australian Rally Championship, 4WD, Classic & SxS series will all run again in the 2015 season as they did during the current season. 2WD remains the outright category for the ARC for 2015 before a change to both 2WD and 4WD vehicles being eligible for the outright Australian Rally Championship from 2016.
2. The 4WD series will be renamed the ‘Australian 4WD Rally Series’ to better promote its standing and will again be decided over the best 3 out of 5 events contested.
3. All entrants competing in the outright ARC, Australian 4WD Rally Series and the Classic Rally Challenge, will be seeded together. This move will see leading drivers starting in order of their seeding, regardless of which of the three categories they are competing in at that event.
4. In 2015 the ARMOR ALL Power Stage will be contested by both outright 2WD and Australian 4WD Rally Series competitors. Crews will perform one qualifying run, with the top three 2WD and 4WD qualifiers then vying for bonus Championship points. This will provide significant promotional benefits for 4WD competitors and will be complemented by increased television and other general promotion.
5. In the Manufacturer’s Championship, the best scoring vehicle from a maximum two nominated will score points allowing manufacturers to nominate only one car.
6. Cars rejoining during a Sprint event (WA, Canberra & Rally SA) will not receive an event award or be on the podium, however they will still be eligible to receive the points allocated to their finishing position. This brings them in line with the Endurance events (IROQ & Rally Australia).
7. In the Classic Rally Challenge, cars running under the newly formed C1 and C2 technical regulations will be eligible with C3 and C4 cars open to enter events as an invitational entry.
Full details of the 2015 East Coast Bullbars Australian Rally Championship Sporting Regulations will be released early in 2015. For information relating to the 2015 ECB ARC please contact Katie Philps at admin@rally.com.au

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts