Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Forty-three cars will line up this Saturday night for the running of the final round of the Yokohama Tyres Victorian Club Rally Series, the Edwards Ford Yakkerboo Rally.

Starting at Neerim, east of Melbourne, the event will offer crews 116km of competitive stages and will see battles for the championship all through the field.

Wayne and Kim Stewart have already wrapped up the outright title in their Subaru Impreza WRX, but there’s a host of drivers battling it out for the minor placings, including the up-and-coming Richard Gill in a Toyota Sprinter and Mark Millar (Datsun 1600).

In the ‘Sonny Robson’ Novice Award, Grant Heywood and Ged Blum need only to finish the event in their Datsun 1600 to take the title in their first season of rallying, however Brock Snowdon (Daihatsu Charade) and Lucas Thorpe (Datsun 180B) will both be aiming for the runners-up place.

Things are even closer in the two-wheel driver championship, with Mark Millar holding a narrow one point leader over Andrew Taylor in a Mazda RX7, with Simon Boyer a further two points in arrears.

The event will see Darryn Snooks head the field away from the start in his potent Datsun Stanza, but former Australian Champions, Geoff Portman and Ross Runnalls, will be hot on his heels in a 6-cylinder Holden Commodore.

Fresh from his win in last weekend’s Moondarra Meander, Doug Fernie will start from position four, while other drivers to watch will include Brian Shand (Mitsubishi Starion Turbo), and Steuart Snooks in the second of the family Stanzas.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts