Classic rally competitors will be vying for the new ‘Classic Challenge Trophy’ this year, which will be held jointly between the Otago Rally and the Wairarapa Rally.

Cars that comply with the Otago Classic eligibility criteria will be in line for the new award.

The first round of the Classic Challenge Trophy will be the Dunlop International Classic Rally of Otago on April 10 and 11, while round two will be the new Malcolm Stewart Memorial Rally (to be run as part of the Wairarapa Rally) in September.

“This is a tremendous initiative and gives classic rally competitors a new trophy to aspire to,” Otago Rally clerk of course, Norman Oakley, said.

“Both the Otago and Wairarapa rallies are well respected in New Zealand, and we’re confident that classic competitors will take up the challenge.”

Both events offer competitors a two-day format that also forms part of the New Zealand Rally Championship. Crews will also be able to purchase pacenotes and perform a pre-event reconnaissance.

For further information, contact Norman Oakley via email:

Regular updates on the Otago Rally can be found on the event website

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts