Exclusive access from $6.55/month

Canberra's Martin Notaras and Simon Arthur have once again retained the Dutton Rally National Series, despite only winning one round of the four-state championship.

In the most competitive fields ever seen since the events inception in 2000, Notaras and Arthur struggled to keep the car at the pointy end, but ended up with the silver wear after being the most consistent all year.

"It's a pleasure to be the champions again this year, especially in the fields we encountered." Says Notaras. "Next year we will be retiring the old EVO VIII, and returning with a brand new EVO IX, which will hopefully keep us on top."

Second place was New South Welshmen David Finnimore and Chris Sprangers driving a Mitsubishi EVO VI and third place was Victorians Greg Muller and David Pitman also in an EVO.

The 2007 Series is set to double in fields, Dutton Rally management say this is because competitors are starting to realise events like these are some of the only events competitors can bring their road registered and modified cars and compete without cars being set-up as race cars.

"The beauty of the Series is that competitors don't need rollcages and extensive modifications". Says National Series Director Anthony Moss. "All that is needed is road rego, a 2kg fire extinguisher, a medical kit and a CAMS licence, available from us."

Last weekend over 90 cars lined up for the popular Victorian round of the four-state series, which began in Shepparton last Friday. Competitors faced driving tests at the DECA training ground, Shepparton Airport, Winton Motor Raceway and Sandown International Raceway.

Coming next for the Dutton Rally team is an all-new event- 'The Race to the Pie', which will be held on the weekend of December 2 and 3.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts