Victorian Mitsubishi driver Scott Pedder has stormed to victory in Leg 1 of the NGK Spark Plugs Rally of Melbourne, finishing the day 16.4 seconds ahead of Toyota's Simon Evans.  Second place today ensures Evans remains on top in the race for this year's Australian Rally Championship title, a title he is desperate to win.  Evans' team-mate, Neal Bates, finished the day in third place.

Dean Herridge's Subaru suffered a flat tyre early in the day, but he worked his way up to fourth.  Young Will Orders was battling tyre wear in his Subaru, but finished in fifth place and has all but guaranteed victory in the BP Ultimate Challenge.

David Hills (Mitsubishi), Stewart Reid (Toyota), Kevin Shaw (Mitsubishi), Brett Kipling (Mitsubishi) and Tasmanian Simon Jansen (Mitsubishi) all finished the day in the top ten, a remarkable effort in what is traditionally a tough event.

The event concludes tomorrow after another eight stages in Victoria's picturesque Yarra Valley.


Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts