Exclusive access from $6.55/month
Following the many details announced at their World Motor Sport Council on June 14, the FIA has now published further information. Of most interest includes the long rumoured Pyramid vehicle structure and the consequential renumbering of categories applicable in regional rallying, where World Rally Cars are not permitted. The intention to use low numbers to indicate the most performant categories in the sport (ie, Formula 1 for grand prix racing) had originally been confirmed several years ago. In descending order of performance, R5 cars become “Rally 2”, the recently introduced R4 Kit (which itself superseded previous Group N based R4 category cars) becomes “Rally 2 Kit”, then comes R-GT, then a category called R3 thought to be announced in the future, then existing R2 cars will be called “Rally 4” and existing R1 cars “Rally 5”. No provision has yet been announced as to how the current national category cars (highlighted by AP4 in Australasia, and Maxi Rally in South America) will fit in. Some interim news has been released about the proposed new hybrid rally cars, and the concept of permitting scaled down C-segment production cars to encourage participation by more manufacturers. Even bigger news is promised by the end of June when the FIA publishes its proposed 2020 WRC calendar, which brings with it the news that certain existing WRC events will be dropped.

More international rally news:

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts