Several rally drivers have made the list of Australia’s top 100 drivers, which was recently published in the weekly motorsport magazine, Auto Action.

And while all those listed are deserving of their place in the top 100, there are many more who would perhaps feel more than a little aggrieved that their names don’t appear.

Some-time rally driver, Jim Richards, heads the list at number four, followed by:

17. Colin Bond (Australian Rally Champion and former Holden and Ford works rally driver)

22. Possum Bourne (a Kiwi, but listed because of his seven-straight ARC wins between 1996 and 2002)

32. Ross Dunkerton (Multiple Australian Champion and former Datsun and Mitsubishi works driver)

42. Neal Bates (Toyota stalwart who is still at the pointy end today)

46. Chris Atkinson (Current Subaru World Rally Team driver in the WRC)

50. “Gelignite” Jack Murray (Legendary driver from the Redex Round Australia Trial days)

56. Greg Carr (Ford factory driver, and one of our most talented rally drivers ever)

58. George Fury (Datsun rally star, and later became a touring car front runner for Nissan)

62. Harry Firth (the first Australian Rally Champion, driving a Ford Cortina)

83. Cody Crocker (Australian and Asia Pacific Rally Champion, and a Subaru favourite)

91. Simon Evans (reigning Australian Rally Champion)

However the list is very subjective. Young V8 Supercar drivers such as Todd Kelly and Jamie Whincup make the list, but legends of Australian rallying, such as Ed Ordynski, Geoff Portman and Wayne Bell, don’t.

So rather than starting a debate on who should, or shouldn’t have made the Auto Action list, let’s start our own.

Send us an email telling us who you think (in order) are the top 10 Australian rally drivers of all time.

Send your list to:

We’ll close the voting on July 20th, then publish the final list. Go to it!

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts