Exclusive access from $6.55/month
In an unusual set of circumstances, Canberra co-driver Nick Vardos finished both first and second outright in last weekend’s Mundarlo Road rallysprint, conducted on a closed public road near Tarcutta in Riverina NSW.

Vardos co-drove for eventual winner Karl Willett in a Subaru Impreza WRX, alternating his ride between Willett and second-placed Mike Morris in a similar WRX.

The two drivers battled it out over the demanding course all day, and after a total of six runs, Willett emerged as the overall winner by a mere one second. Another Canberra driver, Trevor Stilling, brought his Mitsubishi Evo. 5 home in third place, a further 18 seconds in arrears.

Organised by the Wagga and District Car Club, under the direction of Jason Wall, the event was held in fine and dusty conditions, attracting a field of 12 crews.

Class winners were Lindsay Collitts/Shane Pearce (Mitsubishi Pajero), Peter Taylor/Adrian Coppin (Toyota Corolla), Dean Price/Jenna Kelley (Proton Satria), and Karl Willett/Nick Vardos.

1: Karl Willett/Nick Vardos (Subaru Impreza WRX) 9.56
2: Mike Morris/Nick Vardos (Subaru Impreza WRX) 9.57
3: Trevor Stilling/Matthew Sosimenko (Mitsubishi Evo 5) 10.15
4: John Parker/JJ Quirk/Simon Hall (Mitsubishi Evo 3) 10.23
5: Lindsay Collitts/Shane Pearce (Mitsubishi Pajero) 10.26.

Get full, exclusive access for only $6.55/month.
  • Full access
  • Exclusive news
  • Store & Tour discounts

Show Your Support


Recent Posts